5 Theories On The Best Order To Watch The ‘Star Wars’ Movies

in Movies And Entertainment by

For my fellow nerds, here are five different possibilities of orders to watch the Star Wars movies in:

1. Episode Order – I, II, III, IV, V, VI

According to George Lucas, this is the correct way to watch them. However, is it really the best way? If you watch the prequels first, then the whole Darth Vader is Luke’s father thing is old news. All of the good stuff becomes anticlimactic.

2. Rogue One Order – R1, IV, V, I, II, III, VI, VII

Rogue One is a standalone movie; however, its story line is closely tied to the Death Star saga. So, many fans have declared this the best way to dive into the Star Wars universe.

3. The Time Machine Order – *IV, *V, *VI, I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX

This one is basically impossible to replicate. It requires watching the original cuts of IV, V, and VI before the CGI edits of the 1990s. They haven’t been released since 2006, and Disney hasn’t made any plans to re-release them anytime soon.

4. Theatrical Release Order – IV, V, VI, I, II, III, VII, VIII, IX

This is the most obvious and popular way to experience the saga.

5. Machete Order – IV, V, II, III, VI, VII, VIII, IX

This order was first proposed by software blogger Rod Hilton in 2011. It drops the bad stuff while amplifying all of the good things in the saga. It also cuts whiny Anakin and most of the Jar-Jar Binks ridiculousness of Episode I.

Happy watching!

Featured image via Twitter.

Latest from Movies And Entertainment

Go to Top